Queensland Judge - Children's Book of the Year Awards

Queensland Judges

Michelle Worthington

Michelle holds a Master of Arts (Writing and Literature), Master of Education (Learning Innovation), Graduate Diploma of Education (Teacher Librarian) and a Graduate Diploma of Education (Secondary). As a librarian at an all boys’ school, she feels the most important part of her job is to get the boys to read and to be excited about books. Michelle believes that reading books for enjoyment and pleasure are the most important things one can do. She reads widely within the field of children’s literature.

Kerry Neary

Kerry Neary has been a member of the CBCA Qld Branch for over thirty years. He is now a life member. He has served as a judge for the CBCA Book of the Year Awards on a number of occasions including twice for the Eve Pownall Award. He has reviewed children’s books for many years. This includes a reviewing segment on radio 4MBS in Brisbane which has reached its twenty-year milestone. Though retired from Teacher Librarianship for over a decade now, he remains committed to the promotion of children’s literature and family reading.

2017 Australian Judges

Children's Book of the Year Awards 

Older Readers 

Michelle Worthington QLD

Katharine England SA

Margaret Merga ​WA

Younger Readers

Margaret (Nette) Hilton NSW

Dianne Elson NT

Kim Morton ​ACT

Early Childhood

Julie Long ACT

Amanda Cooper VIC

Ruth (Jennifer) Campbell-Hicks ​WA

Picture Books

Jo Panckridge VIC

Julian Laffan NSW

Karen MacPherson ​TAS

Eve Pownall

Helen Rothwell TAS

Heather Zubek VIC

Kerry Neary QLD 

    Information about the other judges can be found at Reading Time.