Welcome to Queensland Branch

The Children's Book Council is an Australia-wide organisation which aims to foster children's enjoyment of books. On a national level, the organisation of the annual Children's Book of the Year Awards and Children's Book Week together with a biennial National Conference focussing on children's literature are important ways of achieving this aim.

The Qld Branch is organised by volunteers and operates out of the Qld Writers Centre located in the State Library of Queensland (SLQ). These important partnerships aim to connect organisations interested in literature in its many forms. The best way to contact us is by emailing: qld@cbca.org.au

We generally meet every second Tuesday of the month on Level 2, SLQ, Stanley Place, South Brisbane. Our meetings run from 6 - 8 pm. While primarily we meet face-to-face, we do also hold some meetings via zoom.

Donations to the Qld Branch of the CBCA will go towards supporting our projects, such as readers cup, & community outreach to organisations and schools who work to enrich children's literary lives.

Meeting Dates 2023

January 17 (zoom) February 13 (in person) March 14 (zoom)
April 19 (in person) starting at 5.30 pm May 9 June 13
July 11 August 8 September 12
October 14 

Nov 14 (zoom)

November 25 Planning Day

CBCA Qld Branch

C/- Qld Writers Centre

P O Box 3488

South Brisbane   Qld   4101

Our Patron

Her Excellency the Honourable Dr Jeannette Young AC PSM

Governor of Queensland

Image supplied by and used with permission from Government House

Go to the CBCA National Website

EVENTS through Trybooking

Click here to find all CBCA Qld Branch events both current and past to see what we're up to! Join us to celebrate children and young adult literature in its many forms, and help to acknowledge Australian authors and illustrators.