BILBY Awards

Books I Love Best Yearly

The BILBY Awards are the Children's Choice Awards organised by The Children's Book Council of Australia (Queensland Branch).

Each year throughout Queensland hundreds of children select their favourite book and nominate it for the BILBY Awards. It is a wonderful opportunity for young people to exercise their voice, to have a say about what they read. This is their very own book award.

2018 BILBY Awards is now closed.

Information about the 2019 awards will be uploaded in early 2019

There are three readership categories:

Early Readers

Picture books and story books for readers under 8 years old

Younger Readers

Books for readers aged 8 to 12 years old

Older Readers

Books for readers over 12 to 18

Selection Criteria:

The book can be from anywhere in the world, but must be written or translated into English

It cannot be a previous winner

In each category, the award is for a specific title, not for a book series

2018 BILBY Winners

Early Readers

Do Not Open this Book

Andy Lee
Illustrated by Heath McKenzie

Younger Readers

The 91-Storey Treehouse

Andy Griffiths & Terry Denton

Older Readers

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

J K Rowling